For the One Facing Change

In the world of education, things are always changing.  For me, teaching has been an incredibly refining experience because of the flexibility it requires.

Let’s be real, when do things actually go according to plan?  Just whenever I think I will get though the day without a curve ball, a kid brings me throw-up that they caught in their hands. True story.

Craving Consistency

There is something within my soul that craves consistency… stability. It is natural for my soul to buck change and cling to the familiarity of my comfort zone. Nevertheless, change always comes knocking at my door– everyone’s door, it’s just a part of life. Sometimes change comes about through my own personal choices; I take a leap of faith. Sometimes, change is forced upon me. Without a doubt, teaching has taught me to rely on Jesus for the stability and consistency that I deeply crave.

Through the good changes and the bad changes that will and do come, I take comfort in the fact that…

God does not change.

 “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows” (James 1:17, NIV).

Knowing that I can trust God to be exactly who He says He is helps me look at season-changes and trials through a lens of hope. The Good Shepherd who is leading me, will always be the Good Father who has my best intentions in His heart. Which is why, at the end of the day, God always uses change (both good and bad) for our benefit.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose” (Romans 8:28, NIV).

All things. Even the things that we don’t like, He uses for our good. He is just that good of a Father. And that gives me peace.

Casting My Cares on Him

Those that know me well know that I prefer a good years notice before big life changes, my calendar is crammed-full months in advance, and when it comes to my job as a teacher… I like to plan at least three weeks in advance.

Though I have grown leaps and bounds in the art of “flying by the seat of my pants” and “going with the flow,” I still fight the mental and spiritual battle of anxiety when faced with change.

Time and time again, the Holy Spirit has encouraged me to come to Jesus with my worries, stresses, and fears in regards to change. Peter writes in his first letter, encouraging the church to “Cast all your anxiety on Him (Jesus) because He cares for you” (1 Peter 5:7, NIV).

He cares for us, His affection for us is unconditional, and He works ALL things for our good. When I am stressing about the future, I’m reminded of the One that is always with me. He is constant. He is steadfast. He is true. I can come to Him, crawl into His lap, and “dump” my worries about the future in His hands all because He cares deeply about us.

Peace

Paul writes to the church in Ephesus, he says, “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all He has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus” (Ephesians 4:6-7, NIV).

Peace.

Somehow, in light of God’s unexplainable peace, change begins to seem a whole lot less scary. But, whenever I begin to fret, may I be reminded to come to God in prayer– the Faithful One who doesn’t change. Rather, He works ALL things for the good of those that love Him. Can we not face anything with God on our side?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Aunt Kearby says:

    You’ve got a big change coming, moving from teaching kindergarten to teaching first grade. I know you’re up to the challenge, and I know God is putting you where you need to be because you’re always open to His plan for your life. Hugs to you, my sweet niece!

    Like

    1. mrsackley says:

      Yes I do! And I’m so excited for the new challenge. Love you!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

